This Weekend: Wine and Cheese on Seneca Lake

This weekend a friend and I are going to a wine and cheese event over on Seneca Lake.

This weekend the Seneca Lake Wine Trail is hosting their March Preferred Pairings event. These events are always a fun opportunity to sample local wine and local foods. The tasting starts at one winery, and then guests have the option to move on to others in the area. This month is one of my favorite combinations: wine and cheese. I’ll be heading to Lakewood Vineyards with my fellow foodie Caitlin in tow; I’m looking forward to sampling a cheese pairing from a startup that we work with, Tumino Cheese Company. Too bad the weather won’t be as nice as the pictures this time of year…

3
The Lakewood Vineyards crew.

Tumino Cheese is a member company at the incubator where Caitlin and I both work, Rev: Ithaca Startup Works. I love their products and I enjoy their dedication to making Italian-style cheeses here in the Finger Lakes. I also love that they’re a woman-owned business, of course! Tumino cheeses have won several regional and state awards, and they are featured at vineyards and restaurants around the Finger Lakes.

56fed21b7db6d-image
Mariann Fessenden, Elisa Tumino-VanAmburgh, and Sue Prokop of Tumino Cheese. Photo by Sara Jean Conden, from the Auburn Citizen.

Did you know that the Finger Lakes region has over 100 wineries? The region is small, with unique microclimates around the many narrow lakes, and I think the dry whites are worth trying. If you want to learn more, check out the Finger Lakes episode of one of my favorite podcasts: Wine for Normal People. Elizabeth Schneider is a fantastic presenter and she does a great job of explaining what makes our region unique.

Stay tuned next Monday for a post about our trip to Seneca Lake. Who knows which winery we’ll decide to go to after our first stop at Lakewood? If you’ve been to the area and have a favorite we should try, leave me a comment below.

Author: BoSanbo

I am an anthropologist and environmental psychologist interested in architecture, design, travel, and fermenting things. I sit around, drink coffee, and think about how culture can produce spaces and how spaces and produce cultures. At work, I run around, drink coffee, and build relationships between entrepreneurs, communities, and the spaces they all inhabit.

2 thoughts on “This Weekend: Wine and Cheese on Seneca Lake”

  1. May I suggest stopping by Standing Stone Vineyards to visit with Marti Macinski. When you are there be sure to try her Saperavi, It was just involved in a tasting in S. Australia where it got favorable reviews. Tell her that Rich wpawinepirate sent you.

    1. Thank you Rich! We didn’t make it to Standing Stone this weekend, but I’ll put it on my list for our next visit to Seneca Lake – and I’ll definitely say “hello” for you.

Leave a Reply

